Recipes are suggestions, right?

16 Jan

I love to cook. I think I’m a pretty good cook. I can make a tasty meal out of whatever we have in the house in under an hour. But I’m really bad at following a recipe. I’m bad at following instructions in general, but worst in the kitchen. My typical method is to think of what I want to make, or what food I have on hand that’s in danger of going bad, and search for recipes. For example, our produce delivery service, (freshpicks.com) has been bombarding us with butternut squash for a few weeks now, and I can’t keep up. So I thought about doing something with the squash and black beans. Which led me here. (http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Black-Bean-Chili-with-Butternut-Squash-and-Swiss-Chard-234146). I looked at a few other recipes, then went into the kitchen to cook. I did not bring the recipe with me.

I diced up an onion and some garlic, cubed the squash (I remembered that part), cooked it as instructed, dumped in some spices based on what I remembered, and found some chipotle peppers in adobe in the freezer, so I chunked off some of it and chopped it and threw it in. Then added in a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes and simmered until the squash softened. Finished with the chard. Let it cook a bit longer, then portioned it out for meals later in the week.  It was so good!!!

Leave a Reply

